Islanders deserve answers on eGaming file before by-election


Summerside  – Islanders deserve to see the findings of the Auditor General’s investigation into the government’s failed eGaming project before voters begin casting ballots in the Summerside-Wilmot by-election, says Stratford-Kinlock MLA and Public Accounts Committee Chair James Aylward.

“This controversial project generated national headlines and in the Premier’s own words ‘did reputational damage to the province’. This failed project involved over $1 million of tax dollars secretly invested by government that will likely never be recovered. There’s considerable public interest in this issue and I think Islanders deserve to know what was uncovered before voters go to the polls in the Summerside-Wilmot by-election,” says Aylward.

The provincial government entered into a shadowy partnership to explore development of an online gaming platform in 2009, eventually contributing over $1 million in public financing for the project. The project collapsed in 2012 due to legal concerns that the project didn’t conform to the Criminal Code of Canada, eventually sparking a multimillion dollar lawsuit against the province that’s still ongoing. Bowing to public pressure the MacLauchlan government referred the file to the Auditor General for review.

“Time and again I’m hearing from Islanders struggling to get by on less and less. Government’s excuse is that they can’t help because they don’t have the money but when you see tax dollars squandered on things like eGaming it makes you question where this government’s priorities are when people are hurting,” says Summerside-Wilmot PC candidate Brian Ramsay.

Advance voting for the Summerside-Wilmot by-election begins on October 8.

Get in touch

Mailing Address:
PO Box 578, Charlottetown, PE C1A 7L1

Physical Address:
30 Pond Street, Unit B, Charlottetown PE

Toll Free: 1-800-859-4221 | Phone: 902-628-8679 | Fax: 902-628-6428


The PEI PC Association Members list is used to send news and updates to Prince Edward Island Progressive Conservative Association members.   Subscribe today!